Language Lesson and Homestay Experience

So my group and I have only been in Accra Ghana for four days now and already I am loving literally every minute of this trip. I have been waiting impatiently for this experience to happen for so long and now it is finally happening. We have been taking classes with our teacher Geoff from Landmark College, and he has taught us about the Ghanaian values. Some of them are their sense of community, family, religion, morals, work ethics, attitude towards money, tribalism and their pride in appearance. I have tried many amazing, new styles of foods such as, fufu, chicken, spicy soups, red-red with white fish, and much more. Also, I have learned how to dance and even have been taught some of the twee language from the local Ghanaians. Here is some greeting terms that we have learned so far. Akwaaba! Me ho to say? Me hoy ya. Me daase. This means welcome! How are you? I’m fine, thank you. Moreover, I have seen numerous styles of fashion and crafts and you can’t forget the fun, crazy ways of transportation. My entire group still has two more weeks left in Ghana and I can only imagine what else we are going to experience.

A few days later…
Today is Nicole and I’s last day spending time with our homestay family. For me, this is a very sad occasion because I have had such a delightful time with these specific people. I would have loved to spend a few more days with Auntie Millicent and her eight kids if I could but unfortunately this was not possible. On the other hand, I am not to upset simply because I am very grateful I was able to live a day in the life of a Ghanaian. I was lucky enough to see first-hand what each person in the family is responsible for doing and how they get to spend their days. This was an outstanding opportunity for me and I believe that everybody enjoyed each other’s company even though the time spent was very short. I promised my new family that I would do my best to try and come to visit them again in the future. The next time I would love to invite my mom with me because I think she would have a blast just like I did. I will definitely stay in touch with everybody and be sure to never forget what I have seen and what I was taught. This was truly an amazing opportunity and if I could do it again I definitely would. This is not goodbye forever, it is simply see you later.

by Sara Fradkin

One thought on “Language Lesson and Homestay Experience

Leave a Reply

